Showing posts with label Effect. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Effect. Show all posts

Friday, 8 February 2013

Star Effect On the Cursor

UmerPrince


A few days ago, I found a new trick. This tricks is work if you move the cursor, so the cursor will drop a lot of stars. So you can see falling star in your blog, and your blog will be sparkle. OK if you think this trick is nice, just follow the steps below

1. Log in to your Blogger  Account
2. Go to Design>>>Edit HTML
3. Find code : </body> (If you want to faster : F3)
4. Copy and paste the code below AFTER that

<script src="http://calvinalx.googlepages.com/Sparkle.js" type="text/javascript"></script><br /> <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">var colour="white";</script>

5. Save and then see your sparkle blog!  

Moving Down Background for Blogger

UmerPrince


Now, I will share about Moving Down Background for Blogger. This trick is very unique. Why? Because the blog background will move without scrolling. So I called this "Unique Background". if you want to try Moving Down Background for Blogger, just follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Design --> Edit HTML
3. Copy the code below, and paste above </head>

<script src='http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js?ver=1.3.2' type='text/javascript'></script>
<script type='text/javascript'>
//<![CDATA[
$(function(){

// ***
// Scrolling background
// ***

// height of background image in pixels
var backgroundheight = 4000;

// get the current minute/hour of the day
var now = new Date();
var hour = now.getHours();
var minute = now.getMinutes();

// work out how far through the day we are as a percentage - e.g. 6pm = 75%
var hourpercent = hour / 24 * 100;
var minutepercent = minute / 30 / 24 * 100;
var percentofday = Math.round(hourpercent + minutepercent);

// calculate which pixel row to start graphic from based on how far through the day we are
var offset = backgroundheight / 100 * percentofday;

// graphic starts at approx 6am, so adjust offset by 1/4
var offset = offset - (backgroundheight / 1);

function scrollbackground() {
// decrease the offset by 1, or if its less than 1 increase it by the background height minus 1
offset = (offset < 1) ? offset + (backgroundheight - 1) : offset - 1;
// apply the background position
$('body').css("background-position", "50% " + offset + "px");
// call self to continue animation
setTimeout(function() {
scrollbackground();
}, 70
);
}

// Start the animation
scrollbackground();
});
//]]>
</script>

4. Then try to find

body {

just copy this code and put under body {

background:url(http://lh6.ggpht.com/_dfnTVAxeWMI/SrFV2ZgHUvI/AAAAAAAACU8
/yP_7acjnv5U/bgscroll.jpg);

5. Click SAVE TEMPLATE 

Meteor Shower on My Blog!!!

UmerPrince


Now, we will try to make an effect. That's Meteor Shower on My Blog. This effect is very interesting. When you open your blog (has added this effect) you blog will be get meteor shower. Very nice right? OK, now if you want to add meteor shower on your blog, just follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Design --> Page Elements --> Add Gadget
3. Choose "HTML/Java Script"
4. Then, add the code below

<script language="javascript">
nd_mode="meteor";
nd_sound="on";
nd_vAlign="bottom";
nd_hAlign="right";
nd_vMargin="10";
nd_hMargin="10";
nd_target="_top";
</script>
<script language="javascript" src="http://www.netdisaster.com/js/mynd.js">
</script>

5. Save It ......

How to Add Rainbow Effect For Link And Post Title

UmerPrince


Usually when we moved our cursor to the post title, the color on the title will change. But the change is only one color. Therefore, I will teach you how to change the color into Rainbow Effect. So, if you want to learn it, just follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Design>>>Edit HTML
3. Find this code : </head>
3. Then copy the code below


<script type='text/javascript'>

 //<![CDATA[

 var rate = 20;

 if (document.getElementById)
  window.onerror=new Function("return true")

 var objActive;  // The object which event occured in
  var act = 0;    // Flag during the action
  var elmH = 0;   // Hue
  var elmS = 128; // Saturation
  var elmV = 255; // Value
  var clrOrg;     // A color before the change
  var TimerID;    // Timer ID

 if (document.all) {
  document.onmouseover = doRainbowAnchor;
  document.onmouseout = stopRainbowAnchor;
  }
  else if (document.getElementById) {
  document.captureEvents(Event.MOUSEOVER | Event.MOUSEOUT);
  document.onmouseover = Mozilla_doRainbowAnchor;
  document.onmouseout = Mozilla_stopRainbowAnchor;
  }

 function doRainbow(obj)
  {
  if (act == 0) {
  act = 1;
  if (obj)
  objActive = obj;
  else
  objActive = event.srcElement;
  clrOrg = objActive.style.color;
  TimerID = setInterval("ChangeColor()",100);
  }
  }

 function stopRainbow()
  {
  if (act) {
  objActive.style.color = clrOrg;
  clearInterval(TimerID);
  act = 0;
  }
  }

 function doRainbowAnchor()
  {
  if (act == 0) {
  var obj = event.srcElement;
  while (obj.tagName != 'A' && obj.tagName != 'BODY') {
  obj = obj.parentElement;
  if (obj.tagName == 'A' || obj.tagName == 'BODY')
  break;
  }

 if (obj.tagName == 'A' && obj.href != '') {
  objActive = obj;
  act = 1;
  clrOrg = objActive.style.color;
  TimerID = setInterval("ChangeColor()",100);
  }
  }
  }

 function stopRainbowAnchor()
  {
  if (act) {
  if (objActive.tagName == 'A') {
  objActive.style.color = clrOrg;
  clearInterval(TimerID);
  act = 0;
  }
  }
  }

 function Mozilla_doRainbowAnchor(e)
  {
  if (act == 0) {
  obj = e.target;
  while (obj.nodeName != 'A' && obj.nodeName != 'BODY') {
  obj = obj.parentNode;
  if (obj.nodeName == 'A' || obj.nodeName == 'BODY')
  break;
  }

 if (obj.nodeName == 'A' && obj.href != '') {
  objActive = obj;
  act = 1;
  clrOrg = obj.style.color;
  TimerID = setInterval("ChangeColor()",100);
  }
  }
  }

 function Mozilla_stopRainbowAnchor(e)
  {
  if (act) {
  if (objActive.nodeName == 'A') {
  objActive.style.color = clrOrg;
  clearInterval(TimerID);
  act = 0;
  }
  }
  }

 function ChangeColor()
  {
  objActive.style.color = makeColor();
  }

 function makeColor()
  {
  // Don't you think Color Gamut to look like Rainbow?

 // HSVtoRGB
  if (elmS == 0) {
  elmR = elmV;    elmG = elmV;    elmB = elmV;
  }
  else {
  t1 = elmV;
  t2 = (255 - elmS) * elmV / 255;
  t3 = elmH % 60;
  t3 = (t1 - t2) * t3 / 60;

 if (elmH < 60) {
  elmR = t1;  elmB = t2;  elmG = t2 + t3;
  }
  else if (elmH < 120) {
  elmG = t1;  elmB = t2;  elmR = t1 - t3;
  }
  else if (elmH < 180) {
  elmG = t1;  elmR = t2;  elmB = t2 + t3;
  }
  else if (elmH < 240) {
  elmB = t1;  elmR = t2;  elmG = t1 - t3;
  }
  else if (elmH < 300) {
  elmB = t1;  elmG = t2;  elmR = t2 + t3;
  }
  else if (elmH < 360) {
  elmR = t1;  elmG = t2;  elmB = t1 - t3;
  }
  else {
  elmR = 0;   elmG = 0;   elmB = 0;
  }
  }

 elmR = Math.floor(elmR).toString(16);
  elmG = Math.floor(elmG).toString(16);
  elmB = Math.floor(elmB).toString(16);
  if (elmR.length == 1)    elmR = "0" + elmR;
  if (elmG.length == 1)    elmG = "0" + elmG;
  if (elmB.length == 1)    elmB = "0" + elmB;

 elmH = elmH + rate;
  if (elmH >= 360)
  elmH = 0;

 return '#' + elmR + elmG + elmB;
  }

 //]]>

 </script>

7. And paste it above </head>
8. Save and try it  

How To Make A Word To Follow Cursor

UmerPrince


Now i  will post How To Make A Word To Follow Cursor. The effect will make your text around the cursor. Now i wil give the steps.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Desgin>>>Page Elements>>>Add Gadget
3. Choose "HTML/Java Script"
4. Then copy the code below, and paste in the place


<style type='text/css'>
#outerCircleText {
font-style: italic;
font-weight: bold;
font-family: 'comic sans ms', verdana, arial;
color: #0000ff;
position: absolute;top: 0;left: 0;z-index: 3000;cursor: default;}
#outerCircleText div {position: relative;}
#outerCircleText div div {position: absolute;top: 0;left: 0;text-align: center;}
</style>

<script type='text/javascript'>
//<![CDATA[
;(function(){
// Your message here (QUOTED STRING)
var msg = "Comments";
/* THE REST OF THE EDITABLE VALUES BELOW ARE ALL UNQUOTED NUMBERS */
// Set font's style size for calculating dimensions
// Set to number of desired pixels font size (decimal and negative numbers not allowed)
var size =20;
// Set both to 1 for plain circle, set one of them to 2 for oval
// Other numbers & decimals can have interesting effects, keep these low (0 to 3)
var circleY = 0.75; var circleX = 2;
// The larger this divisor, the smaller the spaces between letters
// (decimals allowed, not negative numbers)
var letter_spacing = 5;
// The larger this multiplier, the bigger the circle/oval
// (decimals allowed, not negative numbers, some rounding is applied)
var diameter = 10;
// Rotation speed, set it negative if you want it to spin clockwise (decimals allowed)
var rotation = 0.4;
// This is not the rotation speed, its the reaction speed, keep low!
// Set this to 1 or a decimal less than one (decimals allowed, not negative numbers)
var speed = 0.3;
////////////////////// Stop Editing //////////////////////
if (!window.addEventListener && !window.attachEvent || !document.createElement) return;
msg = msg.split('');
var n = msg.length - 1, a = Math.round(size * diameter * 0.208333), currStep = 20,
ymouse = a * circleY + 20, xmouse = a * circleX + 20, y = [], x = [], Y = [], X = [],
o = document.createElement('div'), oi = document.createElement('div'),
b = document.compatMode && document.compatMode != "BackCompat"? document.documentElement
:
document.body,
mouse = function(e){
e = e || window.event;
ymouse = !isNaN(e.pageY)? e.pageY : e.clientY; // y-position
xmouse = !isNaN(e.pageX)? e.pageX : e.clientX; // x-position
},
makecircle = function(){ // rotation/positioning
if(init.nopy){
o.style.top = (b || document.body).scrollTop + 'px';
o.style.left = (b || document.body).scrollLeft + 'px';
};
currStep -= rotation;
for (var d, i = n; i > -1; --i){ // makes the circle
d = document.getElementById('iemsg' + i).style;
d.top = Math.round(y[i] + a * Math.sin((currStep + i) / letter_spacing) * circleY - 15) +
'px';
d.left = Math.round(x[i] + a * Math.cos((currStep + i) / letter_spacing) * circleX) + 'px';
};
},
drag = function(){ // makes the resistance
y[0] = Y[0] += (ymouse - Y[0]) * speed;
x[0] = X[0] += (xmouse - 20 - X[0]) * speed;
for (var i = n; i > 0; --i){
y[i] = Y[i] += (y[i-1] - Y[i]) * speed;
x[i] = X[i] += (x[i-1] - X[i]) * speed;
};
makecircle();
},
init = function(){ // appends message divs, & sets initial values for positioning arrays
if(!isNaN(window.pageYOffset)){
ymouse += window.pageYOffset;
xmouse += window.pageXOffset;
} else init.nopy = true;
for (var d, i = n; i > -1; --i){
d = document.createElement('div'); d.id = 'iemsg' + i;
d.style.height = d.style.width = a + 'px';
d.appendChild(document.createTextNode(msg[i]));
oi.appendChild(d); y[i] = x[i] = Y[i] = X[i] = 0;
};
o.appendChild(oi); document.body.appendChild(o);
setInterval(drag, 25);
},
ascroll = function(){
ymouse += window.pageYOffset;
xmouse += window.pageXOffset;
window.removeEventListener('scroll', ascroll, false);
};
o.id = 'outerCircleText'; o.style.fontSize = size + 'px';
if (window.addEventListener){
window.addEventListener('load', init, false);
document.addEventListener('mouseover', mouse, false);
document.addEventListener('mousemove', mouse, false);
if (/Apple/.test(navigator.vendor))
window.addEventListener('scroll', ascroll, false);
}
else if (window.attachEvent){
window.attachEvent('onload', init);
document.attachEvent('onmousemove', mouse);
};
})();
//]]>
</script>

NOTE : #0000ff with your color choice
             Comments with your message

5. If finished, save it now.

How To Make A Clock And Calendar To Follow The Cursor

UmerPrince


Give star effect on the cursor? That's usual. Change the cursor with another icon? Easy. If, make a clock and calendar to follow the cursor? It's amazing. Maybe this trick is rarely found on other blogs, but to give thebest for readers, we are ready to post a rare trick. Directly, if you want to try this trick, just follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Design>>>Page Elements>>>Add Gadget
3. Choose HTML/Java Script
4. Get the HTML code
5. Copy and paste in the place
6. Save it

How To Change Cursor In Blog


UmerPrince



Are you bored with default cursor in your blog? If you're bored, you can change the cursor now, easy right? What? You don't know how to change it? OK, i will teach you how to change the cursor. You just follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Design>>>Page Elements>>>Add Gadget
3. Choose "HTML/Java Script"
4. Copy the code below, and paste on the place.


<style type="text/css">body
{cursor:url("http://cursors0.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/indonesia.gif"),default}
</style>


5. Save it now

You can change http://cursors0.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/indonesia.gif with your image (cusor) URL. Below are the examples of unique cursor :


http://cursors0.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/aliendance.gif

http://cursors2.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/pool8spin.gif

http://cursors2.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/choco1.gif

http://cursors3.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/bigboo.gif

http://cursors0.totallyfreecursors.com/thumbnails/mario.gif

How To Add Floating Spoiler Menu In Blogger


Hi, guys! Now, we will try to add floating spoiler menu. This spoiler menu is difference with others. We don't need to click the button to display the menu. Just put your cursor on this menu, and the menu wil be slide out. Want to see the DEMO? Now, if you wanna add floating spoiler menu into your blog, just follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your blogger account
2. Go to Design --> Page Elements --> Add Gadget
3. Chose "HTML/Java Script"
4. Add the code below


<style text-type="CSS">
#bmenu{
position:fixed;
right:5px;
center:0px;
background-color:#000;
border-radius:10px;
-moz-border-radius:10px;
border:1px solid #FFF;
width:202px;
height:20px;
color:#FF0606;
transition:all .5s ease-in;-moz-transition:all .5s ease-in;-webkit-transition:all .5s ease-in;-o-transition:all .5s ease-in;z-index:3;overflow:hidden;padding:9px 15px 10px;}

#bmenu h3{
margin:0;
padding:0;
text-align:center;
cursor:pointer;}

#bmenu ul{
border-radius:10px;-moz-border-radius:10px;
border:2px solid #FFf;
background-color:#FF0606;
margin:15px 0;
padding:0 15px;}

#bmenu li{list-style:none;margin:0 0 5px;padding:0;} #bmenu li a{
color:#000;
text-decoration:none;
font-size:14px;}

#bmenu li a:hover{
color:#fff;}

#bmenu:hover{
z-index:5;
height:175px;
</style>

<div id="bmenu">
<h3>
TITLE</h3>
<ul>
<li><a href="#">FBT-1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">FBT-2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">FBT-3</a></li>
<li><a href="#">FBT-4</a></li>
<li><a href="#">FBT-5</a></li>
</ul>
</div>


Customize:
=> The position of floating spoiler menu
=> The title of this menu
=> The title and link location

5. Click SAVE

Friday, 25 May 2012

Creating a Stunning Digital Smoke Effect


In this tutorial we are going to show you how to easily create digital abstract smoke using both Illustrator and Photoshop. One of the best things about this technique is that it’s very customizable and you can do it pretty quickly.
As I said before, we will use Illustrator a bit, but actually you can use whatever vector software you have. The only requirement is that it have a similar tool to the Blend Tool in Illustrator.






Step 1

Open Illustrator, and using the Pen Tool (shortcut: P), draw two different curved lines, try to make them cross each other like the ones below. Those will be the shape of our smoke. After that, do the same thing again and draw two more lines. From those two pairs of lines, select one pair, and set the stroke color of the first line white and the other with dark gray(70%). Repeat the same thing on the other pair of lines but invert the colors. The reason we do this is because when we import those shapes in Photoshop we will be able to tweak the colors with a lot more ease.

Step 2

Using the Blend Tool, click on the edge of the white line and then click on the edge of the gray line. It will create a line between the two lines. With the Blend Tool selected, go to Object>Blend>Blend Options. There, change the Spacing to Specified Steps and put 200 steps. Repeat the same procedure on the other pair of lines we have.

Step 3

Now it’s all Photoshop from here. Copy the first blend and paste it in to Photoshop as a Smart Object. Repeat that for the second layer. We choose to paste as Smart Objects because you can scale and re-scale without losing quality. This happens because they remain vectors rather than becoming bitmap graphics. Besides that we can edit the vectors again, and if you are using the CS3 version it’s possible to apply all filters in a non-destructive mode as well. That means if you apply any filter you will be able to change their parameters anytime or even delete the filter effect returning to the original image. This is not dissimilar to Layer Styles except now with filters.

Step 4

Here I just organize my layers using folders. Set the blending mode to Multiply for both folders: Shape 1 and 2. After that apply a Gaussian Blur with a radius of 1 pixels in both layers: Smoke 1 and 2.

Step 5

Duplicate both layers inside of each folder. So you will have Smoke 1, Smoke 1 Copy, Smoke 2, and Smoke 2 Copy. Change the Blending mode of the Smoke 1 Copy and Smoke 2 Copy to Overlay

Step 6

Now we are going to change the color from that grayish tone to a blueish one by creating a new fill or adjustment layer and choosing Hue/Saturation. Put that layer on top of the others and double-click on the layer to edit the Hue/Saturation parameters.

Step 7

Duplicate the Smoke 1 layer and Rasterize it. Then put it on the top of the other layer, even above the adjustment layer. After that change its blending mode to Color Dodge and apply a Gaussian Blur with the radius of 25 pixels. You will get a light blue color like a glow.

Step 8

Now we have the basics. We could stop here and have a great effect already, but let’s take it to the next level. It’s time to add some extra wafts. First fade Smoke 1 back to about 50% so it’s a little softer. Then duplicate the Smoke 1 group and fade right back to 20%. Select the group and add a Layer mask. Then using a White to Black radial gradient, mask it out as it gets to the right side so the smoke is fading off into nothing.

Step 9

Next duplicate the same fading out smoke layer we made in the last step and rotate it to make it look a bit more random. If you had time you could replicate these layers from the very beginning steps in Illustrator. Your aim should be to have wafts of smoke going away from the main smoke channel. If you want a smoke on white effect, you should stop here.

Step 10

Next create a new layer above all the others and fill it with a gradient going from white (#FFFFFF) to grey-ish blue (#C4CCD0) as shown.

Step 11

Set the new layer’s blending mode to Exclusion. Exclusion (as well as Difference) invert colors from lower layers, which gives us a smoke on dark-grey effect.

Step 12

The coloring is now pretty cool, but it could be even more graceful. Create a new layer above the others and fill it with a linear gradient from #5f4547 to #7096e4 as shown. Once you have the gradient, set the blending mode to Color and 50% Opacity.

Step 13

Finally we add a bit of text to finish off the image. This effect is best when you create it larger than you need at the end, then shrink it down and run the Unsharp Mask filter over it (Filters > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask) to get the curves looking clean and crisp.

Conclusion

Using Illustrator’s Blend Tool gives a lot of flexibility so it’s possible to create all sorts of shapes and blend them, even creating blends with four different shapes. Then in Photoshop with the Smart Objects and Smart Filters we can apply, change, and test all kinds of filters and combinations. It’s all about playing with the tool.
As Bert Monroy always says, I hope you have learned something from here and it’s not the end result but how we got there. Thanks


Making a Photoshop Logo

In this tutorial, we’re going to use the Path Tools in Photoshop to draw a shield-like shape. Then using some gradients, we’re going to give it a metallic edge and shiny center. I actually made this tutorial when making the default icons for some posts here on Brain Hackers, so if you go to the main listing on the site you’ll see them in action.

Step 1:

We begin with a dark grey to black gradient. I drew this with the Radial Gradient, which long-time readers will know is my favorite gradient tool. Anyhow don’t worry too much about these colors, because midway
through the tutorial, I decided they were too dark and changed them!

Step 2:

Now press Ctrl-R to switch on your rulers and drag some guides out. You do this by clicking on the ruler and then keeping your mouse down and dragging out to where you want them to be. I set up my guides as shown below. Because I’m drawing a triangle, I want to make sure that it’s symmetric and not wonky – hence the guides.
Note that at any time you can press Ctrl+’ and the guides will switch on and off. This is useful because otherwise they get in the way of what you’re trying to do sometimes.
Also with the rulers you can right-click on the rulers and you’ll see the different measurements they work in. For Web graphics it’s probably easiest to work in pixels (though for print you’d want something larger probably). Anyhow because my canvas is 500×500, I put the guides at 100px, 250px, and 400px and then 100px and 250px downwards.

Step 3:

Next grab the Pen Tool (P) and draw a triangle as shown. You can do this with three dots (yes all the high school math is worthwhile after all!). Note that if you hold the mouse down when you place dots you’ll get into the curvy pen thing (it’s technical name is bezier curves) and we’re not interested in those today, so just click once to get nice angled points.
Also if you hold down Shift you’ll find you get the Pen Tool snapping to lines which are in multiples of 45 degrees. This can be good particularly if you want to draw the dead straight line at the top (and not accidentally place a mark a few pixels off). Alternately I suppose you could make sure you have snapping on which is under View > Snap To > Guides. Either way should get you the right result. As always Photoshop gives you a zillion ways to do everything.

Step 4:

Now we want a variant of the Pen Tool called the Add Anchor Point tool. You can see it in the picture below.

Step 5:

With the Add Anchor Tool selected and your guides still up, go through and add extra points in the positions shown below (note that I’ve switched off the guides with CTRL+’ so that I could screenshot it properly).
You may be wondering why we didn’t just add all these points in the beginning rather than after we’d drawn the triangle. The answer is simply that it’s hard to get everything looking nice and symmetrical. This is just an easier way.

Step 6:

Now we are going to change to the Direct Selection Tool (A) which is the arrow shown. There are actually three Arrow tools in Photoshop, this one, it’s alternate which is called the Path Selection Tool and our regular arrow also called the Move Tool. What’s the difference?
Well basically the Move Tool (the regular one) is for moving objects around as you do normally. These other two are for paths. The Direct Selection tool is for selecting either points or edges (the lines between the points). While the Path Selection tool is for moving the entire path around all together (without it losing shape).
The best way to understand them, of course, is to click on each one in turn and see what it does! But for now we just want the Direct Selection Tool.

Step 7:

So using the Direct Selection Tool, first click on the top middle point to select it. Now hold down Shift and press the Up arrow a couple of times and you’ll see the point move up. Next do the same with the left and right midpoints to make them move about.
We hold down Shift because it makes movement faster (I think SHIFT+Arrow is the same as 10xArrow with no Shift).
Anyhow, move the points about until you have something like shown…

Step 8:

It’s up to you how you make your final path turn out, I made mine kinda quirky by just moving points about until they kinda looked like a shield. I saved the path in the PSD file for download in case you want that exact path. You can find it by clicking on the Paths tab and then you’ll see a path marked Shield Path.
Any time you have a path you think you might want later, click to the Paths tab and then click on that little arrow pointing to the right and choose Save Path. This is particularly handy if you’ve spent a long time deep-etching a person out of a photograph and you want to make sure you don’t accidentally lose your path work.

Step 9:

Next create a New Layer. Click on the Pen Tool and then right click anywhere on the canvas and choose Make Selection. You’ll get a little dialog box asking if you want to feather your selection, make sure it’s set to 0 (the default) and press OK.
Next get a light grey to dark grey and draw a gradient in your new layer as shown.

Step 10:

Now with that layer still selected, create a New Layer and go to Select > Modify > Contract and put in 10 pixels.
Next draw a gradient going the OTHER way with the same two light grey and dark grey colors. So the first one should be from top-left to bottom-right. This new layer should be bottom-right to top-left. You can see the effect of the two gradients in the picture for the next step.

Step 11:

Next while your second layer is still selected, go to Select > Modify > Contract again and use 10pixels again. Then create a new layer, and this time with a Radial Gradient, draw in a nice orange gradient with the lighter part in the top left as shown.

Step 12:

Now go back to the middle layer and press Ctrl and click on the layer to select its pixels as shown. Create a New Layer above that one and fill it with white.
Then go to Select > Modify > Contract and use a value of 1 pixel and then hit Delete. This will leave a one pixel thin white line between the two metallic gradients. It will look like the top of a ridge of metal (sort of …)

Step 13:

Ok, so here’s what we have so far. You can see that by using the two gradients going in opposite directions, we’ve created a sort of 3D effect which looks like light is coming from the top left and creating a highlight and shadow on the "metal."

Step 14:

Now we add a simple Drop Shadow and Inner Shadow to the orange layer. You can see these in the sample PSD file for download, but basically it’s just an inner shadow with distance of 0 so that the shadow is even around the edges, and similarly with a drop shadow. We want the inner shadow as it makes it look a little more three dimensional because the edges are curving away from the viewer’s perspective. The drop shadow is just to make the orange layer react a little more with the metal frame.

Step 15:

Here’s what we have now… It’s starting to look pretty cool. At this point I’ve also lightened the background (though it’s hard to tell now that I look at it). So here it’s a very dark grey, as opposed to black. Also I’ve added a drop shadow to the very first grey metal layer, though it’s pretty faint.

Step 16:

Now in a new layer at the very top, draw an ellipse with the Elliptical Marquee Tool (M) and fill it with white as shown.

Step 17:

Now the only reason we’ve actually filled this with white is so that we can now press Ctrl-T and rotate the ellipse as shown.

Step 18:

Once you’ve rotated the ellipse hold down Ctrl and click on that layer to select the ellipse and then delete the layer itself so you are left with just a selection shaped as an ellipse on an angle.
Then create a new layer and draw a Radial Gradient going from white to transparent as shown.

Step 19:

Now hold down Ctrl and click on the orange layer to select its pixels and then press Ctrl+Shift+I to invert the selection (i.e. you’ll be selecting everything except the orange layer’s pixels) and then click on the very top layer, which has that white-transparent radial gradient from the last step, and press Delete. You should now have a highlight as shown.

Step 20:

Now set that highlight layer to a blending mode of Overlay and an Opacity of 60%. It should give a nice golden yellow as shown.

Step 21:

Now in create a new layer and then again hold down Ctrl and click on the orange layer to select its pixels. Then in the new layer draw a Linear Gradient downwards from black to transparent as shown.

Step 22:

Set this new black layer to a blending mode of Soft Light and then hold down Ctrl and click on the orange layer yet again then hold down Shift and press the down arrow a few times to move the selection down. Next go back to that black layer and hit Delete to leave just a bar running along the top as shown.

Step 23:

At this point, I decided to brush the metal up a bit. To do this, click on either of the two grey layers and with the Burn Tool (O) selected and a soft brush, just darken the parts that are darker and lighten the parts that are lighter as you see fit. I did this just to get a bit more contrast as shown. Don’t forget if you hold down Alt while using the Burn Tool it changes to the Dodge Tool (which lightens instead of darkening) so you don’t need to keep switching between them.

Step 24:

OK now for the radial burst in the background. Choose the Custom Shape Tool (U) and select the shape shown below.

Step 25:

Create a new layer just above the dark grey background and, using white as your foreground color, draw a very large version of that shape as shown. This makes a kind of vector starburst effect.

Step 26:

Now set that layer to Overlay and 30% opacity so it’s much fainter. Finally in a layer at the very top, I added a giant S in a darkish red color and set it to Multiply at 20%. Then I wrote a word over the top and we’re finished! A bit of a strange effect, but a fun one nonetheless!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...